Pro-Life…

Now that I have everyone’s attention…

Gotta love Facebook… a FB friend posted the following quote a few days ago. It really has been sticking out in my mind lately. It seems the term “Pro-life” gets thrown around especially so during election season, especially when national elections roll around.

“I do not believe that just because you’re opposed to abortion, that that makes you pro-life. In fact, I think in many cases, your morality is deeply lacking if all you want is a child born but not a child fed, not a child educated, not a child housed. And why would I think that you don’t? Because you don’t want any tax money to go there. That’s not pro-life. That’s pro-birth. We need a much broader conversation on what the morality of pro-life is.” – Sister Joan Chittister

I find myself thinking about life a great deal, mostly the lives of others. It’s the nature of the career I have chosen. When I think of my purpose in the work I choose, I am in fact working to support people in living their lives in a way that is fulfilling, healthy, and whole to them. In the process of doing this work, the people that I am working with talk about their barriers to living a life that is whole and safe; poverty, isolation, lack of resources or support, unsafe housing, lack of health care, being misunderstood by others, barriers to learning and success in school, chronic illness, poor nutrition, having to choose between paying a power bill or buying groceries, issues with mental health, addiction, influences of peers that don’t have a person’s best interests at heart, etc…

When I think of life and living a life that is whole, I think of these things. Helping families and individuals address these things is my purpose in my work. Assisting a person in fighting these barriers to life that is healthy and whole is an act that I consider pro-life…

…work is not simply work.
Whatever kind of work it is—
professional or technical,
physical or intellectual,
financial or social—
it is to be good work,
work that makes the world
a better, more just, more fair,
and more humane place.
for everyone. – Joan Chittister, from Ideas in Passing

Leave a Reply

