Alabama arts…

I thought I might share some of my favorite Alabama artists…

First up is the Alabama Shakes. The group consists of lead singer Brittany Howard, guitarist Heath Fogg, bassist Zac Cockrell, and drummer Steve Johnson. This blues/roots rock group is from Athens, Alabama and was formed in 2009. They’ve recently released an album called “Boys and Girls.” They are definitely worth a listen…

Buy Boys & Girls at Amazon.com. Also on digital download ->Boys & Girls
Alabama Shakes Ep

Next up… let’s just say that I am totally in awe of this designer. Natalie Chanin uses hand sewing and traditional quilting techniques from the rural south to complete her garments and is thought of to be a member of the slow fashion and green/eco fashion movement. Her garments for the Alabama Chanin label  are made from 100% Certified Organic Cotton combined with up-cycled and re-purposed materials by artisans located near Natalie’s home in Florence, Alabama.

On a personal note, I have a bit of a special place in my heart for crafting that is native to rural areas and culture. I love crafting in most every form probably because I come from a long line of rural crafters that were adept at sewing, quilting, knitting, crocheting, tatting, cooking and candy making, growing things for food and beauty, etc… Having this be a part of my culture taught me to appreciate things that take time and skill and contributed to my growth as a creative person. To me, great art is something that engages parts as well as the whole of a person’s being… I think I love Natalie Chanin’s work mostly because I see in her work my history and the women (and men) of my family. I think she very much honors creating that is patient, quiet, and skilled and you end up with a piece that is not only beautiful but rich with history…

Alabama Studio Style: More Projects, Recipes, & Stories Celebrating Sustainable Fashion & Living
Alabama Stitch Book: Projects and Stories Celebrating Hand-Sewing, Quilting and Embroidery for Contemporary Sustainable Style
Alabama Studio Sewing + Design: A Guide to Hand-Sewing an Alabama Chanin Wardrobe

And because I love DIY… How To Embellish Any T-Shirt (With Designer Natalie Chanin!)

Leave a Reply

