Reconnecting with Music…

In responding to my trombone withdrawals, I started attending rehearsals with Tri-State Community Orchestra near my home. As a lifelong band kid, I had yet to have the experience of performing with a group that included string musicians. It’s been fun so far, although my engagement hasn’t been as strong as in other past musical ventures. However, it’s been a good place to let go and engage in a little self care after a full day of work. To speak without words, to commune with others non-verbally is a need I have I think. To breathe and move with others, to have a common language, to be able to connect in a different way… I find this all very sustaining, and when I am without it, it’s something I crave…

And with most of my musical ventures, there is eventually a performance which offers it’s own natural highs…

Leave a Reply

